Dear Dale Hansen…

I guess some people enjoyed Dale Hansen’s rant regarding the story about the Jerry Jones video.  I wonder if he had 95% of this speech in the can some time ago.

Here’s one zinger Hansen had last night:

“Our business now, too many times, is a fat kid in a T-shirt in his mother’s basement, eating Cheetos and writing his blogs — and we make it news.”

Oh, those pesky bloggers in Mommy’s basement again. Yeah, we’ve heard that before. Except this blogger and the ones I know wear work clothes and suits, live all over the city, and haven’t lived in Mommy’s basement in many years. We’re also in pretty good shape.  However, some of us do like Cheetos (or so I’ve heard).

OK, Dale, we get it. But when’s the last time you’ve broken a story? (I’ll wait).  When I wanted to find out who signed with my beloved college basketball teams, I turned to (gasp) blogs, Facebook, and Twitter.

There are some newscasters that have embraced Facebook and Twitter.  I read most of my favorite news media folks’ posts and tweets, which include John McCaa, Gloria Campos, and Steve Pickett.  A couple of my favorite sports people that I follow on Facebook are sportscaster Newy Scruggs from NBC5 and Jemele Hill from ESPN.  They’re not afraid to write talk about their opinions and let them stand on their own. Contrast that with Dale, who comes off like Clint Eastwood in Gran Torino telling people to get off his lawn. 

Any attempt to marginalize bloggers will be a fail.  We’re not only here, we’re multiplying every day.  Maybe Hansen’s just not aware of the world changing around him.  Then again, you have to be pretty self-absorbed to use your own signature for your name every night.

As someone who has had his personal tweets posted on DMN City Hall blog, I can feel for Jerry Jones a little bit.  It’s still funny, because Jerry Jones is an entertaining guy who likes to have a good time.

Here’s the thing about the Hansen rant. Yeah he went in on the network for better or worse. But a lot of old people at networks always feel like they have to cheapshot us bloggers. Why is that? Do they feel threatened?

Mainstream sports news needs to reinvent itself, but I guess for whatever demographic Hensen serves his shtick plays well.  I also can’t remember the last time anybody under 35 thought Dale Hansen was relevant, so there’s that.

Bill Simmons, Deadspin, Ball Don’t Lie > Dale Hansen any day of the week

Maybe Dale can bring me some Cheetos while I write my next blog post.

One Response to “Dear Dale Hansen…”

  1. larchlion Says:

    I tried to post this last night, but I guess it didn't work from my phone. Check this article by Spencer Hall on the same topic. I think he sums it up perfectly:http://www.sportingnews.com/blog/the_sporting_blog/entry/view/30694/the_general_columnist_era_is_over

Leave a Reply

