Murderer of Oak Cliff Woman gets Life

A little more than a year ago, I wrote about the disappearance of Lakendra Lawrence.

The DMN had a write-up that said that her killer was convicted and got life in prison this past week.

Lakendra’s case was on The First 48 last week and it was really upsetting to me. It reminded me how I felt when I was following her family’s ordeal.

This could’ve been my sister, my cousin, my friend. It could’ve been someone in your family. The family is left with nothing but memories.

Thanks to Lt. Craig Miller and the rest of his homicide unit at DPD for helping to give this family closure.

Sometimes, these things are hard to release from my mind. I still have one of Wyshina‘s pictures that I have to give back to her family. I keep a picture of Juanita Payne posted on my wall to remind me why I got into public service in the first place.

All of these beautiful young women killed before they had a chance to live out their lives and dreams. Think about that for a while.

One Response to “Murderer of Oak Cliff Woman gets Life”

  1. Janet Says:

    I have the picture of Tyree in my office to remind me as well. Until your post, though, I hadn’t thought about adding Wyshina’s picture. I think that must’ve been an unconscious denial. Wow.

Leave a Reply

