Things I’ve Learned at Boot Camp

Jay’s Boot Camp has been a great learning experience so far. There are a few things that I’ve learned along the way.

Remember to bring your mat – doing the Army’s PT test on concrete is not fun.

Don’t wear a Lucky (Jeans) T-Shirt. The trainer heckled me for most of that day by calling me “Lucky” everywhere I went.

My weekend eating habits are not helping, and I’m shocked. Peep this health-conscious menu:

*Before the start of week two: A 3-course Sunday brunch at Fearing’s.

*Last weekend: La Duni for dinner on Friday (with Cuatro Leches cake for dessert, of course), Chip’s on Saturday (my last meal there – soon to be RIP), and Sunday dinner consisting of my wife’s killer CFS. At least I skipped the homemade gravy!

Seriously though, this has been a great experience so far. You can learn a lot about yourself when you have to do dozens of sprints and mile-plus runs combined with other intense exercise. Pushing yourself brings you clarity in other phases of your life, and you can’t put a price tag on that.

Leave a Reply

