Boot Camp Blog: Day 1

Why is it so dark in these pics? You’ll find out soon enough.

As some of my friends know, I signed up for Jay’s Fitness Boot Camp. Jay’s came highly recommended in various news clips and from my friends at D Magazine, so I decided to sign up for the four-week class. As I quickly learned, Jay’s Camp is not for the faint of heart.

My wife questioned my sanity for a minute but encouraged me even more. She said I had that “first day of school” look.

Today was the first day. It started before dawn with a 1-mile run around the AAC and the parking lot (see pics). I hadn’t run a straight mile since college, so forget about asking my time in this event.

After the mile run, there were several exercise stations. Each station consisted of 3-4 sets of multiple exercises that caused various levels of pain. At this point, I questioned my own sanity.

For us newbies, we got to do some push-ups and more running (maybe a half-mile total) at the end. For the vets, they were treated to another mile run.

Jay and the other trainers warned us about the world of hurt we would experience come Wednesday. And with that statement, the parking lot lights shut off and we stumbled back to our cars. Shockingly, I’m not in a lot of pain but I know I have a lot of hard work ahead of me.

Leave a Reply

