To a Man, and Thank You Veterans

Today would have been the 60th birthday of my uncle, Walter Plummer.

My Uncle served his country in the United States Army after being drafted into the Vietnam War after graduating high school. He was one of those servicemen who lived a full life but picked up Agent Orange symptoms 20+ years later, and died after a brief bout with cancer.

“Pie” was a prison guard in the Philadelphia Prison system. When I was a kid, I used to ride shotgun with him on many occasions. He made a point of taking me to the jail with him to pick up his check, and what I heard behind that big red prison door made me make sure that I never did anything to become a resident.

Pie was never really into watching sports or anything like that, he was just a great man who provided an excellent example as a role model. His funny sayings and words of wisdom live with me to this day, like those of my parents.

Thank you to our Armed Forces. Like my Uncle, your dedication to this country makes it possible to us to pursue our hopes and dreams.

Leave a Reply

