Our Friend is Gone

As many of you know, a couple of days ago we lost one of our Dallas City Plan Commissioners. Erma Jones Dodd, City Plan Commissioner for District 8, died of natural causes on Thursday.

Erma was loved and depended on by many. She was deeply involved in her community, in the lives of her grandchildren, and in the schools in her neighborhood. She was the “Big Mama” of her family, and for people like that there’s no replacing them.

I got a voicemail from Erma on Tuesday about our meeting that night. Never in my wildest thoughts did I think that would be the last time that I heard from her.

In the short time that I knew Erma, I learned a lot. I think about all of the conversations we had about my district and southern Dallas. She cared so much for the voiceless, those underprivileged people in our city. Erma’s voice carried in such a way that she was often the “second” to many of our motions at CPC.

Erma had a heart of gold, and was selfless beyond measure. She was always running from one community or school meeting to the next. If you check the records, you’ll see that she had been coming to City Hall to speak on various issues long before she was on the City Plan Commission and Community Development Commission.

I never got to thank her for all of the advice that she gave me, but I am glad I got one last hug during our last meeting.

I won’t be posting for a while in honor of my friend. Erma, I’m glad to have known you.

Leave a Reply

