No More Slurpees on the Katy Trail

The DMN reports that Steve Shafer of Shafer Property bought the Knox-Travis site (map) that held the 7-Eleven as well as Bill’s, my favorite flower shop. I’m not sure if he bought the vacant lot next to Bill’s on Travis. Shafer is planning a 60,000 SF office/retail development.

I’m not mad at Shafer at all for doing his thing. Sites gets redeveloped, development moves forward. There’s a 7-Eleven down the street on Fitzhugh but we all have our favorite spots to which we get attached.

When I lived in Knox-Henderson, this was the place where you stopped after coming off of the trail on a hot day. It was also the site of almost every bouquet of flowers I bought for my wife.

I have already read that the 7/11 was being torn down as this is being typed. I’ll be interested to see how the rendering looks and hope the new building will preserve the character of the area.

Leave a Reply

