I have Joined Barack Obama’s Urban Policy Committee

Recent weeks have brought some great opportunities to my life. You never know where life’s journey will take you, so I just try to live my life right and remain open to the possibilities.

I have been invited to join presidential candidate Barack Obama’s Urban Policy Committee and I humbly accepted.

Part of Senator Obama’s plan is to create a “White House Office of Urban Policy to develop a strategy for metropolitan America and to ensure that all federal dollars targeted to urban areas are effectively spent on the highest-impact programs. The Director of Urban Policy will report directly to the president and coordinate all federal urban programs.”

I will not be discussing this role with the press in connection with my being on the committee or campaign. I have also agreed to be a surrogate if needed by the campaign, but there is a lot of info to digest before I want to go on TV.

I look forward to the opportunity to help draft policy ideas that could shape the future of urban America.

Leave a Reply

