Voting Rights Act Renewal Approved by the House

Bill HR-9 passed by a vote of 390-33. However, according to Renee Hartley at Blue Island, six Texas House Reps voted against the bill:

District 6 Joe Barton Republican Ennis, TX
District 11 K. Michael Conaway Republican Midland, TX
District 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican Dallas, TX
District 3 Sam Johnson Republican Plano, TX
District 14 Ron Paul Republican Surfside, TX
District 13 Mac Thornberry Republican Clarendon, TX

The LA Times states:

“Republicans and Democrats have united in a historic vote to preserve and protect one of America’s most important fundamental rights — the right to vote,” House Speaker J. Dennis Hastert (R-Ill.) said in a statement after the 390-33 vote, without mentioning that a majority of Republicans voted for most of the efforts to modify the law.

There are many articles on the subject. Read to your heart’s content.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: